Terra State Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Inducts 28

PTK 2018-2019 Officers with President Schumacher
PTK 2018-2019 Officers with President Schumacher.

The Terra State Community College Alpha Mu Epsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), a national two-year college honor society, inducted twenty-eight students during a ceremony held April 15 at the Ronald L. Neeley Conference and Hospitality Center. Elizabeth Sabel, University of Findlay’s Assistant Dean for Student Success, delivered the keynote address “Take Chances.”

Students inducted into PTK were:

  • Bellevue – Dennis Feuerstein and Kevin Turner
  • Burgoon – Madison Benavides, Brittany Kerlin and Danica Shuck
  • Cygnet – Tyler Zimmerman
  • Fremont – Bailey Blunt, David Boda, Kassandra Hottmann, Kortini Joseph, Kelly Knisely and Brock Overmyer
  • Gibsonburg – Zachary Nevius         
  • Green Springs – Paxton Trusty     
  • Helena – Mariah Kiser
  • Maple Heights – Taylor Wolfe
  • Mason – Sarah Keller
  • Maumee – Kegan Becker                 
  • Oak Harbor - Daniel McMullen
  • Port Clinton – Allison Francis
  • Tiffin – Edmund Blott, Robert Cordell, Richard Evans, Maria Goshe, Brandi Perkins and Sarah Stevens
  • Sandusky – Juan Chacon               
  • Vinton – Katie Slone 

PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among associate degree students who are invited to membership on the basis of scholarly achievement, leadership, citizenship, character and faculty recommendation.

To be eligible for membership, a student must have a minimum grade point average of 3.5 and have at least twelve hours of course work completed. Associate Professors in Mathematics, Nina Schyllander and Michelle White, serve as a co-advisors.